Mental health

Leaving Medium Facebook Groups Saved My Sanity

Better to take a break than be broken.

Author's image

September 18, 2023 was a pivotal day for me.

It was the day I published a FREE story, and a short one for Members.

Then for four weeks, I wrote nothing more for Medium.

The Aggressive Growth Strategies Were Overwhelming

As a highly active member of several Facebook groups for Medium writers, it all became too much. It was totally clear to me things were going pear shape on Medium.

As a former Moderator, I had been deeply engaged in coaching and advising in the groups of avoiding pushy strategies for gaining MPP revenue, while actively supporting and promoting reading those writers who stories you loved.

My story about what makes you a fan on Facebook was still gaining regular readers. And comments.

What Was Happening To MPP?

I started commenting on the lack of updates on MPP earnings. Even reaching out to the CEO, who had joined the group along with Buster Benson, asking for clarification. But got no reply.

On September 29, 2023 I wrote…

--

--